Last Tuesday, after a ninety minute commute, I arrived at Daly Point Nature Reserve in Bathurst for an easy hike and some birding. I often venture outside my local area for hiking, but I tend to watch birds in the backyard. I live in the countryside, surrounded by nature and forests, logging roads and paths in the woods, so driving to look for birds has never been on my to-do list. However, I decided a short outing and a change of scenery would be a good way to celebrate the arrival of summer. June has been dry and warm and the first week of summer saw temperatures soar into the mid-thirties. Although the conditions were not ideal for hiking or birding, I heard several different birds that I could not identify by sound, saw some common birds (black-capped chickadees, blue jays, robins, woodpeckers) and managed to photograph three birds.

The park is a fantastic place to go for a stroll in nature. There are several trails offering a variety of natural habitats including wetlands, beaches, forests and fields. The paths are well-maintained with clear signage and interpretive panels of the birds, animals and plants found in the area. The terrain is relatively flat, with a few small hills, boardwalks, bridges and stairs making it a suitable destination for hikers of all levels.