Daily Prompt: The Zone

While sitting in my cubicle with limited challenging tasks to occupy my mind and keep me busy I often put on my headphones and ease into my private zone in my cubicle. This allows me to drown out the senseless chatter happening in the world surrounding my space. I enter a zone where I can escape the continuous sound of broken English as colleagues and students discuss homework, attendance or quiz scores.

Alone in my zone, without office distractions and rare interruptions, I plan my summer vacation, apply for jobs, read blogs, make comments of the latest news on the CBC, listen to music, surf the Internet for entertainment and think about life outside my cubicle.  Some days I take a stab at the daily prompt at the Daily Post. Writing this makes me realize how lucky I am to have a job where I can relax in my own little zone and do whatever I want and be paid to do this. Most days move by quickly and my zone time comes to an end and I mark another day off the calendar before leaving my cubicle.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: The Zone

Leave a Reply

