Daily Prompt: To Sleep, Perchance to Dream

Another uneventful day  in my cubicle and I could easily nod off for a short nap and no one would even notice. However, I am not tired enough to fall asleep. So, here’s my take on today’s daily prompt from the Daily Post.

My cat loves to sleep on the sofa with a comforter as his pillow.

My cat loves to sleep on the sofa with a comforter as his pillow.

Many people complain about not being able to sleep or not getting enough sleep because of work schedules, family obligations, household chores, and the list could go on.  If anything, I may get too much sleep. The general recommended amount of sleep for an adult to maintain a healthy mind and body is between 7.5 and 9 hours.

Living in Oman, with few entertainment options, stifling heat for six months of the year, I often find myself hitting the sack early because I have nothing to do in the evening. I am usually fast asleep by 9 o’clock and I don’t lift my head from my pillow until 5 or 6 the next morning – a full 8 or 9 hours.

I wake up relaxed, well-rested and energetic after a good sleep. I start my day with a morning run, yoga or some stretching, followed by a healthy breakfast and tea. Then I try to stay busy the rest of the day so that my mind and body are tired enough, so that I can easily fall asleep as soon as I go to bed. I believe an active body and mind helps to ensure a solid sleep without any distractions.

As for dreams, I never remember the details, which probably indicates that they are not exciting or dramatic enough to disturb my sleep.

If you are having trouble dozing off after a long day here are some tips:

1) Close the curtains and turn off the lights. Light tells the brain that it is not time to sleep yet, so a dark room makes it easier to sleep.

2) Follow a routine by going to bed around the same time every night and getting up at the same time the following morning. This helps condition your sleep and wake patterns, so you fall asleep faster and get adequate sleep.

3) Avoid caffeine drinks such as tea, coffee or soda in the late afternoon if you want to sleep well.

4) Become more active during the day. If your body is physically or mentally tired then it is easier to fall asleep quicker and rest better.

5) Don’t eat or do exercises before going to bed. Your body needs time to digest food and calm down or relax after exercise.

Leave a Reply

