The Bench

Daily Post Writing 101: Day 2 Challenge

If you could zoom through space in the speed of light, what place would you go to right now?

This morning as I left my flat and stepped outside into the stifling temperature of a late spring morning in Oman I felt the beads of sweat slowly dripping from my forehead, down my checks onto the ground. I did not complain, knowing that upon my arrival at work, I would step inside a building, and receive a blast of freezing cold air.

Fifteen minutes later, I found myself slowly strolling to my office as my body adjusts to the drastic change in temperature. I turned on my computer, scanned my email and discovered I have another day in my cubicle with an air conditioner directly above my space, blasting arctic air, for seven hours and no work-related tasks to do. I went for a tea to warm my body and checked this blog and it was then that I was transported to a bench in my back yard.

I am suddenly surrounded by a hundred different shades of green. The trees and shrubs are awake after a long cold winter. The trees speak in gentle voices as a soft breeze ruffles the new leaves. The sun sends warm rays down to the nature around me and dries the moist, morning dew that lingers on the bushes below. The gentle smell of damp earth fills the air and the songbirds sing pleasant melodies. The robins  prepare nests for the little ones while the cardinals, blue jays, moose birds and sparrows play amongst the branches of trees. The squirrels make funny noises and sprint up and down beautiful maple trees that stretch to the sky. My mind and my senses embrace the cool refreshing spring conditions of renewal and growth as the wind splashes my face with clean, unpolluted air giving me energy and hope for the day ahead.

Although I have had the opportunity to travel and work in many different and exotic places I have yet to encounter a place as wonderful as the bench in my back yard.  I am counting down the days until I can sit on the bench in my back yard again.

Leave a Reply

