Blogging 201: Blog Branding

The Daily Post’s Blogging 201 Challenge assignment for today is: audit your brand — look at all the ways you communicate information about your blog, and make sure they’re consistent, focused, and say what you want them to say.

Do I really want to brand my blog? This is my place to write for fun and not be too concerned about what others think. The writing on this blog is  random – it is not directed at a niche audience as I have no particular skill or knowledge to share with the world. Moreover, I have no dreams to be a writer, to publish a book or to make money from this blog. It is a writing journal – a place to share ideas and communicate with other bloggers.

So, is creating a blog brand such a big deal? It is a good idea to give readers a few clues by selecting a header and tagline that shows what a blog is about. I used a colorful scene for my original header which gave very little indication about blog content.

This was my original header. Slightly more colorful than my new one.

This was my original header. Slightly more colorful than my new one.

This morning I made a new header using a photo of my office. I also changed the tagline to indicate some of the topics I write about to give readers a better idea of the content. I added an image widget on the side to make the page more colorful since my header is a bit dull.

However, I am not sure if these changes reflect what I want from this blog or not. Actually, I need to consider this branding stuff a bit more and see what else I can do or change to make my layout more appealing.

Things to consider when trying to develop a blog brand.

Things to consider when trying to develop a blog brand.

 

Leave a Reply

