Blogging 201: Establishing Goals

The Daily Post’s Blogging 201 Challenge assignment for today is: “Consider what you want to accomplish with your blog. Write down three concrete goals you want to achieve.”

Why do I blog? Blogging is a way to kill time in the office and keep me busy. Since we have a lot of down time in my job writing gives me something to focus on and it keeps me out of trouble. People constantly complain about students or how boring our job and life is in Oman instead of finding something to do in their free time. I find this tiring so I tend to spend a lot of time in the office rather than in the staff room chatting with my colleagues. I try to take advantage of this time by learning new things. For example, this week I have been studying how to make my own soap which is going to be my weekend project.

What are my blogging goals? Although I write about many things I usually do not publish most of my writing. My running blog helps me stay on track with my training but a lot of my writing does not belong there so that is why I started this blog during the blogging 101 challenge “Zero to Hero”. I had great intentions to write and publish more posts but this didn’t happen.

Blog GoalsThe one thing I learned from my running blog is that having goals and putting them on public display has forced me to work hard to achieve them. Perhaps establishing some concrete, measurable and realistic goals for this blog will push me to overcome my shyness and give me the confidence to share my writing. Thus, my first goal is to publish at least one post per week. My second goal is to reach 25 followers who sign up for my blog and then actually visit or view my posts on a regular basis. As a third goal, I would like to share at least one photo per week on my blog.

Leave a Reply

