Thankful

thankfulA few days ago I stumbled onto a blog post that linked to My One Word website and after viewing it and thought I should give this a try.  The object of the website is to select one word that you would like to focus on over the next year and apply the meaning of this word in your everyday life. Some of the popular words chosen are patience, kindness, and charity.  After some reflection and a list of several words I have decided my word for 2014 is thankful.

Constantly striving to stay on top of the latest fad, the newest technology, and up-to-the-minute fashion accessories many people find themselves in a never-ending spiral of consumerism.  At times, I am so busy thinking about all the material things that I want and saving for my next project that I forget to stop and take the time to be thankful for all the many blessings I have in my life.

I have a supportive family, a comfortable home, good health, a job and I am debt-free. After fourteen months looking for a job in Canada I had to leave my homeland to accept employment overseas. Although living overseas is exciting, interesting and a great way to experience other cultures, make new friends, and save some money  I would rather be home working in my own country, living close to my family,  and being able to communicate freely and easily with my neighbors.

However, the reality is without a job I could not afford to stay.  Many unemployed Canadians are not able to leave and do not have the means to seek employment overseas so, I should consider myself lucky to be able to do this. So, I am thankful for my job even though it is not rewarding or challenging. At the end of the day, this job is better than being unemployed.

Leave a Reply

